Four Alabama community colleges eligible to compete for Aspen Institute’s Prize

The Aspen Prize recognizes colleges for certificate and degree completion and workforce success

Wallace State Community College, based in Hanceville, opened a campus in Oneonta in 2016. The Oneonta campus, in Blount County, has expanded four times since its opening.

Four Alabama higher education institutions have been recognized by the Aspen Institute to vie for the $1 million Aspen Prize to be awarded in 2025. The community colleges are Wallace State in Hanceville, Northeast Alabama in Rainsville, Snead State in Boaz and Southern Union State in Wadley.

The Aspen Prize, awarded every two years, recognizes colleges with outstanding achievement in six critical areas: teaching and learning, certificate and degree completion, transfer and bachelor’s attainment, workforce success, access and equity for students of color and students from low-income backgrounds.

“The Aspen Prize is rooted first and foremost in an assessment of whether colleges are walking the walk,” said Josh Wyner, executive director of the Aspen Institute College Excellence Program. “The best community colleges are continuing to focus on advancing the core mission: making sure as many students as possible graduate with credentials that lead to fulfilling careers and reflect the development of diverse talent that communities, states and our nation need.”

The chosen colleges will compete in a field of 150 institutions.

The latest Alabama business news delivered to your inbox