Career Notes, August 2018

Who's moving up?

Kristine Harding


Kristine Harding, of KPS Group Inc., has been named to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects.

Banking & Investments

Antrenise Cole Robinson has been named corporate communications manager for BancorpSouth Bank.

Jennifer Pate has joined the mortgage team at NobleBank & Trust, working out of the Birmingham office.

Leavell Investment Management has hired Investment Counselor Raines Welden and promoted Dalton Nix to director of account management.

S. Wesley Carpenter has been promoted to senior vice president of Merrill Lynch, working in the firm’s Fairhope office.

- Sponsor -

Timothy Vines and John Turner have been appointed to the boards of Regions Financial Corp. and Regions Bank.


Philip Shelton, of Shelton Construction Inc. in Decatur, has been recognized by Home Builder Digest as one of the Best Custom Home Builders in Alabama.

Annette Ranft


Tony Reddick has been chosen as Gadsden City Schools’ new superintendent.

Chasity Collier, a teacher at Dawes Intermediate in Mobile, was presented the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science teaching at a ceremony at the White House.

Michael Hogue, professor of pharmacy and associate dean of Samford University’s Center for Faith and Health, has been named president-elect of the American Pharmacists Association.

The Alabama School of Mathematics and Science School Board has appointed John Hoyle interim president. Hoyle succeeds Monica Motley, who stepped down at the end of May.

Auburn University has selected Annette Ranft as the eighth dean of the Harbert College of Business. Ranft succeeds Bill Hardgrave, who became provost and senior vice president for academic affairs.

Columbia Southern University Instructional Designer Julia Hart has won the Blackboard Exemplary Course Program Award for “Liberal Arts Math” from Blackboard Catalyst Awards.  Also receiving recognition is course writer Megan Bunnell.

Patrick Murphy has been named the Goodrich Endowed Chair in Innovation and Entrepreneurship in the University of Alabama at Birmingham Collat School of Business. Heather McPherson, a professor in the College of Arts and Sciences, has been awarded the 2018 Ireland Prize for Scholarly Distinction. In addition, Irfan Asif has been named the new chair of the Department of Family and Community Medicine.

Ryan Smith has been appointed dean of students at Wallace State Community College.


Lance Taylor has joined Neel-Schaffer Inc. and will manage the firm’s Alabama operations. He is based in Birmingham.

Mollie Seymour


Alabama Ag Credit has elected Kimberly Adams and John Carl Sanders to three-year terms and Timothy Tucker to a two-year term.

Mollie Seymour has joined Argent Trust Co. as senior vice president/trust officer in its Birmingham office.

Ben Chapman has joined Henderson Wealth Management as an investment executive. Henderson Wealth Management is a full-service brokerage house of Troy Bank & Trust.


Tommy Widmer has joined Shoals Ambulance as general manager for Alabama.

Information Technology

Cepeda Systems & Software Analysis Inc. President and CEO Sandra Cepeda has received the 2018 Women Honoring Women Award from the Women’s Economic Development Council Foundation.


Brett Cohrs has been promoted to vice president of marketing for Palomar Insurance. Joining the firm are Evan Strother as account executive, Paul Cobb as vice president of employee benefits and Wesley Johnson as production assistant.


Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP Senior Attorney Ryan Robichaux was selected as a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation. Attorney Matthew Hinshaw is the recipient of the firm’s 2018 Cameron J. Miller Award for Excellence and Community Service. In addition, Matthew Bowness has joined the firm’s Birmingham office as an associate in the Litigation Practice Group.

Ashley Wicks, of Butler Snow, has been named one of the nation’s Best Advocates: Top 40 Under 40 by the National Bar Association.

Constangy, Brooks, Smith and Prophete LLP has welcomed Tom Scroggins and Brooke Nixon as partners in its Birmingham office.

Patrick L.W. Sefton

Dominick Feld Hyde PC has welcomed Richard Burton as a shareholder and Emily Frost as a staff attorney.

Sasser, Sefton & Brown PC Montgomery Shareholder Patrick L.W. Sefton has been elected to the Alabama State Bar Board of Bar Commissioners.

Annemarie Carney Axon, of Wallace, Jordan, Ratliff & Brandt LLC, has been confirmed by the U.S. Senate as district judge of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Alabama.


Kevin Proulx has joined Pace as chief operating officer.


Greg Shoemaker, executive administrator for Baldwin Bone & Joint, has earned the designation of Certified Medical Practice Executive by the American College of Medical Practice Executives.


Brig. Gen. Randal Efferson has been presented the 2018 Military Leadership Award from the Association of Defense Communities. Efferson is the assistant adjutant general/air component commander for the Alabama Air National Guard.


The Huntsville Art League officers for 2018-2019 are President Stephanie Weaver, First Vice President Dennis Fakes, Secretary Amy McBroom and Treasurer Walt Schumacher.

Real Estate

Arlington Properties has promoted William Morris Jr. to vice president of development.

Faith Harper, of RE/Max Northern, won the Realtor of the Year award, presented by the Birmingham Association of Realtors. In addition, Erle Morring, of RealtySouth Acton Road, was named 2018 Broker of the Year.

White-Spunner Realty has added former Alabama State Representative Jamie Ison to its commercial sales staff.


Warrior-Tombigbee Waterway Association re-elected Charlie Haun, David Carroll, Tom Leatherbury and Larry Merrihew. In addition, new board members elected were John Murray III, David Goin, Wood Neely, Melissa Holley, Patrick Cagle and David Rodgers.

The latest Alabama business news delivered to your inbox